Award-winning VPS student musicians earned coveted spots in prestigious performance groups selected by the Lower Columbia River Music Educators Association (LCRMEA), Northwest American Choral Directors Association (NWACDA), Washington Music Educators Association (WMEA) and National YoungArts Foundation. Congratulations to the following students and their teachers:

Columbia River High School

  • Symphony Koss—WMEA All-State Chamber Orchestra
  • Grant Hobbs—WMEA All-State Concert Band

Dave Chartrey is their teacher.

Fort Vancouver High School

  • Audrey Whaley, Aliya Huff, Maribel Castaneda, Trinity Stegall, Payge Christensen, Emily Ronda, Caleb Maher, Colwyn Beckman, Trey Wheeler, Jonathan Ivans and Rameses Juarez-Reyes—LCRMEA Honor Choir

Bethany Schweitzer is their teacher.

Hudson’s Bay High School

  • Quintin Gaither—NWACDA Honor Choir

Kareah Nicoson is his teacher.

McLoughlin Middle School

  • Isabelle Robinson, Jasmine Nunez and Daisy Rangel—LCRMEA Honor Choir

Bethany Schweitzer is their teacher.

Skyview High School

  • William Duff—WMEA All-State Symphonic Choir
  • Erik Okel—WMEA All-State Orchestra
  • Isabella Abbruzzese, Kayla Oury, Lucy Liu, Holly Hutchison, Alexander Karmody, Erik Okel and Aiden Goodman—LCRMEA Honor Orchestra
  • Kaitlyn Stabell, Alex Ahmann, Cameron Nielson and Harrison Nabors—LCRMEA Honor Band

Philip Denton, Sarah O’Mara and Timothy Heichelheim are their teachers.

Thomas Jefferson Middle School

  • Sicily Dickman—WMEA Junior All-State Orchestra

Carmen Everingham is her teacher.

Vancouver School of Arts and Academics

  • Nova Dunbar—WMEA All-State Symphony Orchestra
  • Rina Ishii—WMEA All-State String Orchestra
  • Candace Houston—LCRMEA Honor Orchestra
  • Elizabeth Bankowski—LCRMEA Honor Orchestra
  • Kaya Dunn—LCRMEA Honor Orchestra
  • Grace Anderson and Graciela Contreras—LCRMEA Middle School Honor Choir
  • Tyler Koford, Grace Cunningham, Sam Baker, Breann Jones and Kate Provolt—LCRMEA High School Honor Choir
  • Isaac Wooten—WMEA All-State Jazz Band
  • Christian Ramirez—National YoungArts Foundation Merit Winner in Jazz–Double Bass

Ann Medellin, Margaret Green and Luke Brockman are their teachers