Pictured above: The 2017 Marshall Youth Award nominees. Photo courtesy of the Fort Vancouver National Trust.

Nine of the 22 Clark County high school seniors nominated for the 2017 General George C. Marshall Youth Leadership Award are from Vancouver schools. The Fort Vancouver National Trust recently announced the nominees in a news release. This year’s VPS nominees, selected for their activities and projects demonstrating the values of the late General George C. Marshall,

  • Sydney Fox-Middleton, Vancouver iTech Preparatory
Sydney Friauf, Skyview High School
  • Dana Fulham, Skyview High School
William Janney, Vancouver iTech Preparatory
  • Nicholas Krane, Skyview High School
Isaac Larson, Skyview High School
  • Ethan Mayers, Hudson’s Bay High School
Courtney Nuttal-Nester, Hudson’s Bay High School
  • Akiva Wells, Hudson’s Bay High School

One nominee will be named the youth winner at a ceremony on March 22, along with the winner of the Adult Leadership Award. The youth winner will receive a $2,500 college scholarship, $500 paid summer internship in the trust’s Celebrate Freedom office, opportunities to meet with local elected representatives and opportunities to participate in Celebrate Freedom events.

This is the 17th year that the Marshall Youth Leadership Award has been given to outstanding young people in the community. Five former Vancouver Public Schools students have received the award: 2002 recipient Kandi Bauman-Garvey, Hudson’s Bay High School; 2004 recipient Anya Pavlovic, Columbia River High School; 2008 recipient Renata Fusso, Skyview High School; 2010 recipient Lindsey Elhart, Hudson’s Bay High School; and 2014 recipient Jose Scott, Fort Vancouver High School.